Home / Compare / Connecting rooms

Tokyo Hotel Connecting Rooms: Which Ones Can You Book as a Pair?

In Tokyo, “connecting rooms” is used for two different things. A few hotels sell two rooms joined by a door (or side by side) as their own room type, so the pair is what you book. Most others only take a connecting request, which the hotel tries to meet but does not promise, and some have no connecting rooms at all.

Below are the Tokyo connecting and adjoining room types we could confirm on the hotels’ official pages, followed by hotels where it is only a request and hotels that say they have none.

Room conditions last checked on official hotel pages: 2026-10-05.

Skyscrapers in Nishi-Shinjuku, Tokyo
Photo: panayota, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (resized). Not an official hotel image.

Quick answers

A bed or futon for each of 4

Washing machine in the room

Full kitchen with a stove

Two rooms sold as one room type*

Connecting only on request

  • Hilton Tokyo – Connecting Rooms (2 rooms via Happy Family Plan)

Lists are built from what the hotels state. A room with a “Not confirmed” value is left out of a list rather than assumed.

* Sold as a pair: Our reading, not the hotel’s wording: when two connecting or adjoining rooms are sold as their own room type, booking that room type should get you both rooms together, unlike a “connecting request”. Most hotel pages do not use the word “guaranteed”, so confirm with the hotel if it matters.

Side-by-side: 7 room types

ConditionConnecting Japanese ApartmentMIMARU Tokyo AkasakaConnecting One-Bedroom Apartment (8 Single-Beds)MIMARU Tokyo IkebukuroConnecting Japanese ApartmentMIMARU Tokyo Ueno EastAdjoining Room BTokyu Stay Shinjuku EastsideStay Connected 3 BedsCitadines Shinjuku TokyoDeluxe Select Connecting RoomKeio Plaza Hotel TokyoConnecting Rooms (2 rooms via Happy Family Plan)Hilton Tokyo
SleepsUp to 8 adults plus up to 4 children aged 6 or under (two connected units)8 adults + 4 children aged 6 or under (two connected units)Up to 8 adults (age 7+) plus up to 4 children aged 6 or under sharing bedsUp to 5 guests (two adjoining rooms)Up to 5 guests; rate covers 4 adults, 5th guest charged extra3-4 guests (two connected rooms, 71 sqm in total)Not confirmed
Bed layout4 single beds + 2 futons + 2 sofa beds (across two connected units)8 single beds (across two connected units)Single bed x6, Futon x22 beds 120 x 200 cm + 1 bed 160 x 200 cm + 1 futon1 queen bed + 2 single beds (5th guest arrangement not stated)Twin beds (120 x 203 cm) and/or king (240 x 203 cm); twin, king or two kings per room can be prepared on requestNot confirmed
Child policyUp to 2 children aged 6 or under (at check-in) are not counted toward adult capacity and may share a bed with an adult; age 7+ counts as an adult.Up to 2 children aged 6 or under (at check-in) are not counted toward adult capacity and may share a bed with an adult; age 7+ counts as an adult.Up to 2 children aged 6 or under (at check-in) are not counted toward adult capacity and may share a bed with an adult; age 7+ counts as an adult.JP FAQ: preschool children share free, one per regular bed; elementary-school age and older pay the adult rate.Not confirmedJP FAQ: preschoolers share a bed free, max one per adult; elementary-school age and older pay the adult rate. Official booking widget notes 'Age 0-5 no charge with no bed'.Children under 6 share a bed free (do not enter them in guest count); an extra bed for them is charged. Age 6+ pays the adult rate.
LaundryCoin laundry on site (no in-room washer)Coin laundry on site (no in-room washer-dryer)Coin laundry on site (no in-room washer-dryer in this room type)In-room washer-dryerCoin laundry on site (ground floor launderette)Coin laundry on site (washer-dryers, 24h, Main Tower 19F and South Tower 18F)Not confirmed
KitchenFull kitchenFull kitchen (IH stove, fridge, microwave, kettle, cookware, tableware)Full kitchen (IH stove, fridge, microwave, kettle, cookware, tableware)Kitchenette + microwaveKitchen equipment listed: mini fridge, kettle, rice cooker on request, crockery; stove not stated (overview table labels it full kitchen)None stated (electric kettle; coffee/tea)None stated
ConnectingBookable as connecting (sold as its own room type: two units joined by an internal door)Bookable as connecting (sold as its own room type: two adjacent units joined by a door)Sold as a connecting room type (two rooms joined by an internal door)Sold as its own room type (two adjoining rooms). A 2022 Tokyu Stay press release for this hotel’s Adjoining Room type says the door joining the two rooms can be left open; it does not distinguish rooms A and B.Bookable as connecting (sold as its own studio-type connecting room type)Bookable connecting room type (two rooms joined)Happy Family Plan: booking 2 rooms comes with an upgrade and a 'guaranteed' connecting room, by advance request (contact hotel by the day before); the plan notes it may not be possible depending on circumstances
SmokingNon-smoking (all MIMARU rooms are non-smoking)Non-smoking (all MIMARU rooms are non-smoking)Non-smoking (all MIMARU rooms are non-smoking)Non-smoking only (whole building non-smoking)No smoking in rooms or shared areasAll rooms are non-smoking (stated on official room pages)Rooms are non-smoking (stated on room pages)
NotesOverkill for 5 but guarantees two rooms together. Single-unit alternatives here (Japanese Apartment / Apartment Sofa-Bed, 40 sqm) take 4 adults + 2 children aged 6 or under, so they fit a family of 5 only if at least one child is 6 or younger.2 washbasins, 2 toilets, 2 bathrooms. Larger than a family of 5-6 needs, but every person gets a separate bed and the two rooms are guaranteed together. Single units here take 4-6 adults.This property has no single room for 5+ adults; the connecting room type (two rooms with an internal door) is the option for 5+ guests aged 7+. Bathroom: Bathroom x2. Room type category on the official page: Connecting Room.FAQ says to ask the property directly about baby items. Adjoining Room A (4 guests, 18 + 25 sqm) also exists.Property lists child-friendly amenities on request and a babysitting service; no age policy found on official pages.Main Tower 32-34F. Sold as its own connecting room type (two Deluxe rooms, 35.5 sqm each). Bed set-up per room is on request. A family of 5 fits only with a preschool child sharing a bed (one per adult). Club/IBASHO access per page.Plan-specific benefit, not a separate room type. Includes breakfast, pool/gym, kids' amenities per plan page. Hilton.com pages returned 403; data taken from the Hilton Japan official site (tokyo.hiltonjapan.co.jp). Guest-room upgrade works June-October noted on the official FAQ.

“Not confirmed” = the hotel’s official pages we checked do not state it. Ask the hotel before relying on it.

Which one fits your family?

  • You are 6 to 9 people, or want two bathrooms and a kitchen: A MIMARU connecting apartment (Akasaka, Ikebukuro, Ueno East and others).
    Two apartment units joined by a door, sold as one room type for 8 adults (9 at Nihombashi Suitengumae) plus up to 4 children aged 6 or under, each unit with a kitchen.
  • You are 4 or 5 and want a washer-dryer in the room: Tokyu Stay Shinjuku Eastside – Adjoining Room A (4) or B (5).
    Two adjoining rooms sold as one room type, with a washer-dryer and kitchenette. Room B has three beds and a futon, so five people only fit if a preschool child shares a bed.
  • You want a full-service hotel with two connected rooms: Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo – Deluxe Select Connecting Room.
    Two connected rooms (71 m² in total) sold as one room type for 3–4 guests. For a fifth person, a preschool child would have to share a bed under the hotel’s rule.

The differences that matter

Every connecting room type we found in Tokyo

MIMARU sells connecting apartments at six Tokyo locations: Akasaka, Hatchobori, Ikebukuro, Nihombashi Suitengumae, Tokyo Station East and Ueno East (see MIMARU hotels compared). Tokyu Stay Shinjuku Eastside sells Adjoining Room A and B (see Tokyu Stay hotels compared). Citadines Shinjuku sells “Stay Connected 3 Beds” for up to 5 guests, with the 5th guest charged extra. Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo sells a Deluxe Select Connecting Room. The table above shows the ones we have full room records for.

Request only: Hilton Tokyo

Hilton Tokyo (Nishi-Shinjuku) does not list a connecting room type. Its Happy Family Plan includes connecting rooms when you book two rooms, by advance request to the hotel; the plan page says this may not be possible depending on circumstances. See Hilton Tokyo family rooms.

No connecting rooms: HOTEL GROOVE SHINJUKU and Hotel Gracery Shinjuku

The official FAQs of HOTEL GROOVE SHINJUKU and Hotel Gracery Shinjuku both say they have no connecting rooms. At GROOVE a family of 5–6 would need a single large room such as the Japanese Suite. At the MIMARU locations without a connecting room type, MIMARU’s FAQ says requests for adjacent rooms are taken but not guaranteed.

Connecting vs adjoining

Connecting rooms share an internal door. Adjoining rooms are next to each other, and may or may not have a door between them. Tokyu Stay calls its Shinjuku Eastside pair “Adjoining”; a 2022 Tokyu Stay press release says the door between the two rooms can be left open, but does not distinguish Room A from Room B, so ask the hotel if that matters with young children.

Child rules for these rooms

RoomChild policy (from the official page)
MIMARU Tokyo Akasaka
Connecting Japanese Apartment
Up to 2 children aged 6 or under (at check-in) are not counted toward adult capacity and may share a bed with an adult; age 7+ counts as an adult.
MIMARU Tokyo Ikebukuro
Connecting One-Bedroom Apartment (8 Single-Beds)
Up to 2 children aged 6 or under (at check-in) are not counted toward adult capacity and may share a bed with an adult; age 7+ counts as an adult.
MIMARU Tokyo Ueno East
Connecting Japanese Apartment
Up to 2 children aged 6 or under (at check-in) are not counted toward adult capacity and may share a bed with an adult; age 7+ counts as an adult.
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku Eastside
Adjoining Room B
JP FAQ: preschool children share free, one per regular bed; elementary-school age and older pay the adult rate.
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Stay Connected 3 Beds
Not confirmed
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Deluxe Select Connecting Room
JP FAQ: preschoolers share a bed free, max one per adult; elementary-school age and older pay the adult rate. Official booking widget notes 'Age 0-5 no charge with no bed'.
Hilton Tokyo
Connecting Rooms (2 rooms via Happy Family Plan)
Children under 6 share a bed free (do not enter them in guest count); an extra bed for them is charged. Age 6+ pays the adult rate.

Before you book

  1. Search for the pair room type by its exact name (for example “Connecting Japanese Apartment” or “Adjoining Room B”) on the hotel’s own site; booking “2 rooms” does not get you the pair.
  2. Check the child rule: MIMARU does not count up to 2 children aged 6 or under per unit; Tokyu Stay and Keio Plaza only let preschool children share a bed for free.
  3. Count beds across both rooms, not only the maximum guests.
  4. A connecting request (Hilton Tokyo’s plan, or adjacent rooms at MIMARU) is not a booking condition. Book a pair room type or a single room that fits everyone if you must be together.

Sources

We have not stayed at these hotels. This comparison is based only on what each hotel publishes. Conditions change; the hotel’s own page and your booking confirmation take priority.